News Detail

Uttar Pradesh Governor
Ram Naik
yoursevak February 7, 2018

Uttar Pradesh Governor

Ram Naik

Shri Ram Naik

The Hon’ble Governor

  • Date of Birth: 16 April 1934
  • Birth Place: Sangli (Maharashtra)
  • Father’s Name: Shri Damodar
  • Marital Status: Married on 17 May 1960
  • Spouse: Smt. Kunda
  • Children: Two daughters
  • Profession: : B.Com., LL.B. Educated at Brihan Maharashtra College of Commerce, Pune and Kishin Chandra Law College, Mumbai
  • Education: Smt. Kunda

Ram Naik was born in Atpadi in Sangli district of Maharashtra on April 16 1934.He is a veteran Indian politician from the BJP.He is the  present Governor of Uttar Pradesh and also held the additional charge for Governor of Rajasthan from 8th Aug. 2014 to 3rd Sept. 2014. Ram Naik was a member of the Lok Sabha from 1999 to 2004 and also Cabinet Minister of Petroleum & Natural Gas in the Government lead by Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee from 13th October 1999 to 13th May 2004. Ram Naik is also instrumental in forming “Mumbai Railway Vikas Corporation” as Minister of State for Railways.

  • 1969-77: Organising Secretary, B.J.S., Mumbai, Maharashtra
  • 1977-78: General Secretary, J.P., Mumbai, Maharashtra
  • 1978-89 : (3 Terms)Member, Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
  • 1978-79 and 1986-87: Member, Estimates Committee, Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
  • 1979-80 and 1988-89: Member, Public Accounts Committee, Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
  • 1979-80:President, J.P., Mumbai
  • 1980-86:President, B.J.P., Mumbai
  • 1984-85:Member, Committee of Privileges, Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
  • 1985-86:Member, Rules Committee, Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
  • 1986-89:Vice-President, B.J.P., Maharashtra
  • 1989:Elected to Lok Sabha (Ninth)
  • 1989-95:Member, Railway Convention Committee
  • 1989-96:Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Railways
  • June 1990-91:Member, Subject Committee on Science and Technology
  • 1991:Re-elected to Lok Sabha (Tenth)
  • 1992-94:Member, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Securities Scam
  • 1992-96:Member, Standing Committee on Railways
  • 1993-95:Chairman, Joint Committee on Catering in Parliament Complex
  • 1995-96:Chairman, Public Accounts Committee
  • 1996: Elected to Lok Sabha (Eleventh) for the third time (with highest
  • votes and margin in Maharashtra)
  • 1996 onwards: Chief whip. B.J.P. Parliamentary Party
  • Member, Business Advisory Committee
  • Member, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Womens Reservation Bill
  • Member, Committee on Empowerment of Women
  • Member, Rules Committee
  • Member, Standing Committee on Railways
  • Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Railways
  • 1999:Elected to 13th Lok Sabha
  • 1999-2004: Union Cabinet Minister, Petroleum and Natural Gas
  • Since 2004:  President, All India Disciplinary Committee of BJP

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *