Blog Post

31 Jan
By: yoursevak 0 0

Rajya Sabha & It’s Members

Rajya Sabha or Council of States is also know as the the upper house of the Parliament of India. As per Article 80 of the constitution The Rajya Sabha is to consist of not more than Two hundred and fifty (250) members. Out of which 238 are to be elected and 12 are to be nominated by the President of India. Actual strength of Rajya Sabha as per present law is Two hundred and forty five (245), of which 233 are elected and 12 are nominated. As per Article 80 (3) of the Constitution of India President of India can nominates 12 Persons having special knowledge or practical experience or done extraordinary work in the field of literature, science, art and social service, sport.

Rajya Sabha is a permanent body and is not subject to dissolution. However, one third of the members retire every second year, and are replaced by newly elected members. Each member is elected for a term of six years. Rajya Sabha members indirectly elected by the state legislators. I.e. Each state MLAs elect the Rajya Sabha members who are nominated by their political party. Rajya Sabha members are elected from all state and two Union Territories (Delhi and puducherry)

Statewise List of Members