Blog Post

30 Jan
By: yoursevak 0 0

Union Government – President of India

The President of India is the head of the executive, legislature and judiciary of the country. Article 52 of the Constitution of India says that there should be a President of India. Article 53 says that all the executive powers of the Union shall be exercised by him either directly or through officers subordinate to him.


Shri. Ram Nath Kovind

The Hon’ble President of India

  • Date of Birth: 01 October 1945
  • Birth Place: Kanpur Dehat, Uttar Pradesh
  • Father’s Name: Late Shri Maiku Lal
  • Mother’s Name: Late Smt. Kalavati
  • Spouse’s Name: Smt. Savita Kovind
  • Children: Prashant Kumar and Swati
  • Educational Qualifications: B.Com, L.L.B.
  • Profession: Advocate, Politician and Activist

Shri Ram NathKovindwas born on October 1, 1945, in Paraunkh village, near Kanpur district, Uttar Pradesh.He is the 14th and current President of India.He is a member of Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP).Previously he served as the Governor of Bihar state from August 16, 2015, to June 20, 2017.He is the second Dalit President of India.He was a Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha from 1994 to 2006.Before he entering into the world of politics he practiced as a lawyer in the Delhi High Court and the Supreme Court for 16 years.He was Union Government Advocate in the Delhi High Court from 1977 to 1979 and Union Government Standing Counsel in the Supreme Court from 1980 to 1993. He became Advocate-on-Record of the Supreme Court of India in 1978.He completed his school education in Kanpur and obtained the degrees of B.Com and L.L.B. from Kanpur University. In 1971, he enrolled as an Advocate with the Bar Council of Delhi. In June 2017, he won the nomination of the Bharatiya Janata Party for President of India in the 2017 Indian presidential election.Hehas interest in reading books on politics and social change, law and history, and religion.

1971-1975 : General Secretary of Akhil Bharatiya Koli Samaj
1977-1979 : Central Government Advocate in Delhi High Court
1982-1984: Central Government Junior Counsel in Supreme Court
1986 : General Secretary of Depressed Classes Legal Aid Bureau
1994-2000: Elected to the Rajya Sabha from Uttar Pradesh
1995-1996: Member of Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Communications
1995-1997: Member of Committee on Home Affairs
1996-1999: Member of Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes
1996-1999: Member of Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Railways
1997: Member of B.J.P. National Executive Committee
1998-2000 & 2002-2004: Member of Committee on Petroleum and Chemicals
1998-2000 & 2002-2004: Member of Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Civil Aviation
1999-2002: National President of B.J.P. Scheduled Caste Morcha
2000-2006: Elected to the Rajya Sabha for 2nd Term from Uttar Pradesh
2000-2004: Member of Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas
2000-2002: Member of Committee on Petitions
2002 -2004: Chairman of House Committee, Rajya Sabha
2002-2004: Member of General Purposes Committee
2002 : Member of Board of Governors, Indian Institute of Management, Kolkata
2003: Member of Board of Management of Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Lucknow
2015-2017: Governor of Bihar